About Us

Board & Committees

The Board is the College’s governing authority. The College’s mandate and structure is established by the Social Workers Act.

There are twelve members on the Board; eight are elected by the College’s registrants while the provincial government appoints four as public representatives. The Board meets approximately five times a year to develop policy and plan the implementation of the College’s goals. Board meetings are open to the public. A small staff, under the direction of the College’s Registrar, runs day-to-day operations.

Board Members

Click here to view a list of the 2017 Board members.


The Social Workers Act in section 8 establishes the following statutory committees:

Registration Appeals

Section 8.(2)(g) provides for the Board to establish by bylaw the following committees:

Quality Assurance

To review descriptions of the above committees, click here.


In addition, the College can establish Reference groups which are advisory to committees and the Board. The following Reference groups have been established:

Towards Developing a Respectful Relationship
Standards of Practice

You may find more information about these Reference Groups on the correspondingly named tabs on the website.